Wisconsin or Bust?

I think I’m going to give the heptathlon a shot if everything works out over the next few days.  Threw the shot yesterday (38′ standing with the 12#) and did a few hurdle drills.  It looks like rain tomorrow, so today I practiced carrying and running with the vaulting pole, ran some approaches for high jump, and hurdled some more.  The next two weeks are going to be like an extended cram session.

Out of everything I do, I think that I enjoy practicing hurdles the most.  There’s just something about the rhythm and the immediate feedback you get when you’re doing it right.  I just wish it didn’t tear my hamstring up so badly.  After two straight days of hurdles it’s pretty tender right now.  Hopefully it will improve with a day off from sprinting tomorrow.

If we get some decent weather I think I can probably find an all-comers meet somewhere nearby and can give the pole vault a try with some standards up.  Ten feet doesn’t look that high, and if I can hit that I wouldn’t lose much ground to anyone.

Did a back workout at HealthQuest this morning, then finished off with three miles on the treadmill tonight.  Should sleep well tonight.

Leave a comment