Last Day of Summer?

I noticed that it felt pretty warm today when I went home for lunch.  Checked the temp gauge in my truck….80 degrees….sweet!  Decided that I should take advantage of that and do my running outside today.

Left HealthQuest at around 4:00 and jogged the half mile down to Napa High School.  It was a busy place today.  The football team was on the infield as expected, while powder-puff football practiced on the north end in the throwing area.  I shared the track with the girls basketball team.  They were getting pushed through a tough leg/jumping workout when I arrived, which was followed up by 200 meter intervals.  It looked like they were suffering.

I stretched, did some sprint drills, then headed around to the back-stretch to avoid some of the crowd.  I decided to run 120 yard sprints along the edge of the straightaway on the artificial turf.  It felt good to get up on the toes and open the throttle a bit.  I hadn’t run sprints since the Santa Barbara Meet a month ago, so I didn’t go full-out, but stayed in the 70-85% range.  After six or seven repeats my calves let me know they’d had enough abuse so I shut it down.  I stretched a little more and then jogged back to the gym under the long late-afternoon shadows.

High temps  are supposed to drop down into the 60s by Thursday, and I wouldn’t be surprised if we don’t see 80 degrees again until next spring.   I know our Northern California weather doesn’t approach the frigid temperatures the rest of the country experiences, but I’m a wuss.  Once that needle drops below 70, the cold weather gear comes out.  So today was just a little bonus…shorts and t-shirt…a nice head sweat, a final nod to summer.

Leave a comment